Minister of European Integration and International Cooperation Zlatan Klokić met in his office with Arthur Winkler-Hermaden, representative of the Alps-Adriatic Alliance, and Jörg Hofreiter, BiH Honorary Consul for Styria, Austria.

The meeting discussed the benefits that membership in this regional organization would bring to the Republic of Srpska, especially in the European integration process of Srpska and BiH. The discussions also covered a better organized participation in European projects and stronger cooperation and connection in the Alps-Adriatic region.

Klokić expressed his satisfaction over Srpska being recognized as one of the potential new Alliance members, which showed that regional cooperation had a perspective, especially in the context of European integration and regional initiatives and projects.

He also noted the readiness of Srpska’s Government to consider the possibility of acquiring a member status during this year, said the Ministry.

The meeting was attended by the Head of the Republic of Srpska Representative Office in Austria, Mladen Filipović, and H.E. Ambassador of BiH to Austria Siniša Bencun, who expressed support for strengthening regional cooperation and stressed the benefits of membership in this Alliance during the meeting, especially from the perspective of strengthening ties with Austrian regions, reads the statement.

AP Vojvodina is among its members, and Alliance’s current presidency is held by the region of Styria, Austria, says the Ministry.

The Alps-Adriatic Alliance represents a population of over seven million within twelve member regions of Austria, Croatia, Serbia and Slovenia.

Due to its geographical location, its economic and cultural potential, the Alps-Adriatic Alliance network aims at strengthening the ties between the participating regions, countries, municipalities, institutions and civil organisations and, most importantly, at bringing their people together through intensive, project-oriented cooperation.

Source: Ministry of European Integration and International Cooperation – RTRS

Photo: Ministry of European Integration and International Cooperation