The Pan-Serbian Assembly and the Declaration on the Protection of National and Political Rights of the Serbian People threaten no one and are an expression of Serbian unity, said the Minister of European Integration and International Cooperation of the Republic of Srpska, Zlatan Klokić, and Minister without portfolio in the Government of Serbia in charge of diaspora affairs, Đorđe Milićević.

– We have not done anything AGAINST anyone, we have done something FOR our people – Milićević said.

He said that the Pan-Serbian Assembly was an event of historical importance for Serbia and Republic of Srpska and that the adopted Declaration defined the most important national goals.

Klokić stated that the Assembly had sent a message of unity of Serbs on both sides of the Drina, noting that 9 January remained the Day of the Republic of Srpska, and 15 February – the Statehood Day of Serbia, while also becoming the Statehood Day of Srpska.

– Ninth January will never be contested – Klokić makes clear.

Milićević and Klokić said that Serbia and Republic of Srpska would continue to celebrate together all national holidays and important dates for the history of the Serbian people.

Milićević announced further activities on bringing the motherland closer to compatriots outside of Serbia and networking Serbian organizations around the world.

– Language, culture, history, tradition and identity are symbols of a nation and we must help our nation, wherever it lives, to preserve these symbols – said Milićević.

Commenting on the new package of US sanctions, Klokić said that it was a scandalous move that would not yield the result expected by its creators.

He added that the imposing of sanctions confirmed the presence of individuals in the US Embassy in BiH who dealt with the Republic of Srpska in this way, trying to weaken it, but that Srpska remained determined to provide any form of support and protection to all those on the sanctioned list.

As a reminder, the US Department of the Treasury’s Office of Foreign Assets Control has added seven companies and two businessmen from the Republic of Srpska to the list of sanctions.

Source: RTRS

Photo: Ministry of European Integration and International Cooperation